Vitamin D Research Studies

Photo of a bottle of Vitamin D supplementsWHY do all of the Vitamin D studies and all of the research continue to result in the conclusion that Vitamin D supplementation doesn’t work for Fibromyalgia and many other diseases?

Penicillin was discovered in 1928 by Scottish scientist Alexander Fleming. The dosages for Penicillin are 125 mg, 250 mg, and 500 mg, three times each day, depending on the age and weight of the patient and the illness that needs to be treated.

What if studies were done back in 1928 and the patients were given only 10 mg of Penicillin once a day? This would have resulted in the conclusion that Penicillin didn’t work to kill bacteria or infection. Penicillin wouldn’t even exist today.

This is similar to what has happened with Vitamin D studies.

All the studies that I have read about either use to small of a Vitamin D dose or conduct the study for too short of a time period before drawing conclusions.

A publication of Harvard Medical School, Harvard Health Publications, reported that “Although vitamin D is essential to bone health, a controlled clinical trial published in JAMA Internal Medicine this week found that vitamin D supplements didn’t build bone in postmenopausal women with blood levels of vitamin D below the 30 ng/mL–the threshold generally considered necessary for good health. In that study, researchers at the University of Wisconsin randomly assigned 260 women to three groups: one got either 800 IU daily and a placebo twice a month; one got a placebo daily and 50,000 IU of vitamin D twice a month; the third got placebos daily and twice a month. The study lasted a year. The researchers found that neither dose of vitamin D had a significant effect on bone mass, falls or fractures.”

I have a few IMPORTANT things to say about MY EXPERIENCES and how they relate to the above study.

  • When I was diagnosed with Vitamin D deficiency, my 25(OH)D blood level was 11. This level is defined as being SEVERELY deficient.
  • If I would have supplemented with 800 IU daily (like one of the study groups) my 25(OH)D level would not have increased. I would have remained severely deficient and my pain and symptoms would have continued.
  • When supplementing resulted in my blood level reaching 30 ng/ml, which according to this study is “the threshold generally considered necessary for good health”, I still suffered from pain, fatigue, eczema, digestive problems, and other symptoms.
  • I did not feel “well” or “cured” until approximately 6 months after my 25(OH)D blood level had reached the fifties. It took time for my body to REPAIR AND HEAL and I could actually FEEL it healing! During this “healing” time I would get weird aches in my bones (not all bones at the same time) that felt different than the normal ache. It was a “good” ache because I “knew” that something was changing/happening!
  • Even at 3,300 IU each day, which is what one of the study groups supplemented with (the two 50,000 IU dosages each month), I would not have reached a 25(OH)D blood level of 50 ng/ml. I wouldn’t have healed/repaired and would have then been left to conclude that the Vitamin D supplements didn’t work, just as all of the FAILED studies I have read about.

The way I see it – the Vitamin D studies have “FAILED”! The studies do not use a high enough dose and/or do not use it for a period long enough for the study subjects to HEAL and REPAIR.

I am so thankful that I found a great doctor and some great resources on the internet. If I hadn’t, I would now be left to say that I have been in extreme pain for 28 YEARS!

Instead
MY FIBROMYALGIA WAS CURED!!!

Thank you to Dr. Haland, the Vitamin D Council, and Dr. Mercola!

Leave a Reply

